Fire Pit: Korean Instant Noodles

안녕하세요 여러분! Hello everyone, and welcome to this post on Korean food, particularly on Korean instant noodles, commonly known as 라면 (ramyeon).  If you’ve eaten (or heard about) Japanese ramen before, ramyeon is basically the same thing.  There are lots of different varieties of ramyeon , such as kimchi, bulgogi, spaghetti, etc, so I’m sure that you can find at least one that you like (after you decipher the packaging labeling of course).  Since I don’t eat beef or pork, I’ve only been able to try two flavors of ramyeon: udon and spaghetti.

Instant Udon

PICT0280

PICT0279

Technically, I guess you could say that this is not ramyeon because it’s not labeled as such, but I’m going to include it because it still fits into the category of instant noodles.  I’ve had lots of udon (Japanese thick, white wheat noodles) in my day, so when I saw this instant udon in the library cafe I decided to try it.  As much as I tried to like it, it came off as a bit bland compared to both the Japanese and Korean varieties of udon that I’ve tried (Korean udon tends to be a little spicier).  It looked the same, it smelled the same, but it definitely did not taste the same.

Spaghetti Ramyeon

PICT0289

First off, I love pasta.  I love spaghetti.  And I love noodles.  So when I came across Spaghetti Ramyeon (스파게티 라면), I was like, “What’s not to love?” It doesn’t quite taste like spaghetti, but it’s still delicious and I’m wondering if I can find this in San Francisco or whether I’ll have to smuggle some boxes out of Korea.  Unlike most ramyeon, where you just add hot water and start eating, spaghetti ramyeon requires a more involved process.

How to make Spaghetti Ramyeon

PICT0286

1. Add hot water to the noodles.

2. After 5 minutes, drain the noodles.

2. After 5 minutes, drain the noodles.

3. Add the sauce and red powder that came in the package to the noodles.

3. Add the sauce and red powder that came in the package to the noodles.

 

4. Stir and enjoy!

4. Stir and enjoy!

 

Now go out and eat some ramyeon, the fastest meal this side of the East (or West)!

One thought on “Fire Pit: Korean Instant Noodles

  1. Ramen is the hot new thing in DC. There are restaurants & food trucks popping up all over. A super popular one is Toki Underground on H Street, N.E. The Spaghetti Ramyeon looks like Spaghettios to me!

Leave a Reply

